Department of Physics New Chairman

Meet, Prof. Francis Nyongesa, he is the new  Chair Department of Physics. Prof Nyongesa, an associate professor in Physics takes over from Prof. Mwabora who has been the Department's chairman for the last six years (2013-2019).

Prof. Nyongesa took office on Monday 4th November 2019. He is a material scientist with research interest in Functional Materials for Energy Efficiency Sytems (Dye Sensitized Solar Cells) and Water Purification Systems.

Prof. Nyongesa attained his PhD in Physics 2000.

His area of expertise is Microstructure, Electrophoretic deposition of materials, Nanoporous functional ceramics for water purification and Solar energy materials as detailed below:

  • Microstructure - Material property relationships in materials (ceramics, composites)
  • Electrophoretic Deposition (EPD) of Materials and its applications in Dye Sensitized Solar Cells and in Photocatalytic water purification systems
  • Nanoporous Functional Ceramics for Water Purifications systems (design, fabrication, & modelling)
  • Solar Energy Materials

The don's current research is on development of nanoporous ceramic membrane for domestic water filters - Science, Technology & Innovation (ST&I) Research grant for 2012/2013 by NACOSTI (National Commission for Science, Technology and Innovation). His co-researchers are Dr. F. Otieno and Prof. Chacha from Narok University, as well as Selina from Kabianga University.

Additionally, he is also researching on development of ceramic products for structural and water purification applications in collaboration with Princeton University, New Jersey, USA.

The Physics chair has trained and mentored undergraduate and masters students. He has secured three full PhD scholarships for students who now work in the Department of PhysicsBinghamton University, New York, USA.

Additionally, Prof. is a founding member of the Global Young Scientists Academy (GYSA). He is a member of the Ultrasonic Nondestructive Testing (NDT) Society of Kenya, Kenya DAAD Scholars Association and Kenya Physical Society (KPS).